Day 5 and luminous pee!

My word. It’s bright neon yellow!

It’s all down to the vitB12 right enough and the amount I’m getting in my pre-workout drink, multi Vit and veg/fruit is just the body getting rid of the excess and is nothing to worry about.
So if your urine looks like it belongs on an eighties movie shop sign don’t worry. S’all good!

2015/01/img_3739.png

Interesting facts about riboflavin or vitb12 and vitamins in general:

Riboflavin is needed for numerous functions within the body. Specifically, it can help with the proper development, and function, of our skin, the lining or our digestive tract, and the production of blood cells.
Common foods that contain riboflavin are: milk, nuts, dairy products, eggs, lean meats and leafy vegetables like spinach. Fortified (meaning riboflavin was added to it) foods are commonplace, including breads and cereals.
The term “vitamin” was first put forth by Cashmir Funk, a Polish scientist in 1912. It comes from the Latin word “vita” meaning “life”, combined with “amine” after certain compounds such as thiamine which he was able to isolate from rice husks. He worked with Sir Frederick Gowland Hopkins who discovered that parts of food were essential in human health. Working together, they formed theories revolving around the lack of certain vitamins causing disease processes and making people sick.
Riboflavin, and its efficacy, can be destroyed by exposure to light. This is why you should limit this vitamin’s exposure to light and you shouldn’t store it in glass containers.
According to a Nielsen study in 2009, 40% of the world’s population use vitamin supplements. The countries with this highest percentage of their population using vitamin supplements are the Philippines and Thailand (66%). The US comes in at 56%, with 40% using vitamins daily. The US also has the highest volume of vitamin consumption. The two countries with the lowest vitamin use are France (17%) and Spain (13%).
There are 8 total B vitamins. They are: B1-thiamine, B2-riboflavin, B3-niacin, B5-pantothenic acid, B6-Pyridoxal, Pyridoxine, or Pyridoxamine, B7-biotin, B9-folic acid, and B12-cobalamin or in supplement form cyanocobalamin.

NOW:

Today’s training and diet.

Today was meant to be a nice slow 5mile plod and at the aerobic zone, 5miles is manageable for anyone then an hour at BJJ. However. The shitty storm weather here put paid to that run, I’m not one for excuses, but common sense has to prevail. I run along a disused railway line, covered by a canopy of trees. Bad idea in storm weather. Or I could run the road, again, not a great idea with the weather possibly blowing me into the roadway. I normally want to have Sat/Sun off, evidently, Sat this week will need to be the 5 miler when I wake up from Nightshift tomorrow afternoon.

Anyway:

I was up at 07:30 with the kids and I’ve noticed I’ve been struggling at night with hunger pangs, most likely to two things.
Training and;
Not eating enough most likely.

So, I’ve changed it up this morning.
They say, breakfast like a king, lunch like a lord, dine like a pauper.

I say:
Fuck. That. Shit. No way am I going without dinner!

Breakie this morning was a Juiced grapefruit(great fat burner), 1 slice of whole meal toast, with two egg (another fat burner) omelette, half a tin of beans(one portion of the 5 day, carbs and protein in one!!!) and two slices of bacon on it. Oh, and a mug shot of Ready brek.

11am was handful of nuts and my protein shot.

11:55 preworkout.
13:00 post workout
14:30 lunch, consisting of 2 chopped beef sausages, rice and mixed steamed veg pack!
17:30 was this delightful sight:

2015/01/img_3738.jpg

Mmmm, mmmm.
Korma and chips!!!!

You may remember at the start I said I wasn’t going to deny myself treats and will not be doing so! That’s the point of the experiment!

That’s me now till 22:00 when I’ll have my amino acids. According to my fitness pal I’m at 2,500 cals for the day, which is still, 200 under(up to midnight) of what my BMR target is for my height, weight and activity level.

The bummer of nightshift, kids and a wife who’s shift pattern is before yours (is she’s backshift when I’m nights) means I do a 24 hr day on the first night shift. So, I won’t be counting the cals that I consume after 00:00-07:00, given that the BMR calculation takes account of you sleeping for 7-8 hrs and not being active for the full 24 otherwise the cal count would be sky high!

Saying that, I’ve only got a banana, apple homemade soup and a can of monster(trust me come 0300, I will need it) to get through! Which isn’t much cal wise.

May struggle tonight as BJJ on the Friday is what we call “black eye Friday”, no instruction, just sparring. 5 min rounds, after that straight to the next partner. It’s highly anaerobic and draining…….I was defiantly sweating and panting come the end!

Note, I’ve decided to go to the Drs in the last week of this for a full health MOT, to get BP, pulse, cholesterol, liver function test, full blood count etc
The results of which I will publish.

That’s us til Sunday.

Til then see ya on the flip side.

Men’s sana in corpore sano.

Leave a comment